Sunday I decided to let go of my apprehension and try a green smoothie. I gotta say it tasted pretty good at first, mostly of banana, but soon it became unpalatable. I could not drink more than 8oz of it because it filled me up FAST. And since I don't have a Vitamix yet I decided to try the food processor and then pass it through a fine mesh strainer. I dislike chunks or powders in my smoothies. I now completely understand why greens should be either juiced or blended in a blender with a lot more gumption than the one I have....The smoothie looked HORRENDOUS! It was a lesson in soluble and insoluble fiber I can tell you that! It had a foamy head complete with teeny tiny green speckles. It was not pretty.
Here is what I put into it:
3 handfuls of spinach leaves
3 carrots
1 apple
1 banana.
about 6oz of coconut water.
No comments:
Post a Comment
Comments are always welcome.