Earlier this week the weather here was horrible; cold, wet, and even some substance fell from the sky that was half way between snow and hail. It was in pellet form like hail, but slushy. I just cannot drink a smoothie when it is 40 some odd degrees outside. Even a smoothie when we are in the 60's is trying. So while I tried to drink smoothies this week, it did not work out so well. On the up side by the end of the week I have been having serious cravings for fruit and NOT junk food.
I also ran out of Mangoes! I know it does not sound that important, but Mangoes are quickly becoming as important to me as bananas are. I am truly in love with the Mango. I also have not had much luck with fresh mangoes and the frozen variety appears to be the perfect choice. Problem is the only place I can find frozen Mango is Trader Joe's. And of course they are not within a 5 mile radius of my home so it is more of an ordeal to go out there and pick some up.Who wants to go to three grocery stores?!
Needless to say I did not make it out to TJ's and settled on some fresh Mangoes. MEH. one of the three was good, the others, while I thought they looked great on the outside were a nightmare on the inside. I didn't even taste them as they looked diseased. I then bought a "tropical smoothie mix" of frozen Strawberries, Mangoes, and Pineapple. Eek! It was mostly pineapple and made my smoothies way too tart. There was an awful lot of lip smacking going on.That's one product I will not buy again.
I have decided I need to bite the bullet and buy a juicer. I have held back from green smoothies as I have a cheap blender and no juicer. Blending spinach or any other green, in my cheap $20 blender, sounds repulsive. I am a texture eater and I can't get past certain things: raspberry seeds, blackberry seeds, stringy stuff, chalky,gritty, or powdery substances are all wretch worthy. I recently learned from a friend ( my one and only friend who is a raw foodist) that she juices her spinach. She brought me some and I have to say it was really good and perfectly smooth.
So I hope to find a juicer that can do greens and is not as expensive as a Blendtec or Vita-Mix blender.
I did go to TJ's today and am happy to say that I have about 2 weeks worth of Mangoes now...
No comments:
Post a Comment
Comments are always welcome.