In February my office got a new intern, an older woman of
about 50, who had changed her lifestyle to Raw foods. She would bring in these
quart sized mason jars filled with delicious looking concoctions and when I got
to smell them they really did smell divine. Mint and bananas and mangos, and
lemons. One even had Arugula in it! I was so curious she brought me a couple of
recipe books. I looked through them and rather than wasting time debating it I
thought that I’d give it a shot. What was the worst thing that could happen?
It’s a smoothie not heroin.
I decided to start with fruits, yogurt; in short, things that I understood. Nothing wild and bitter like dandelion greens or Arugala. I had worked at a juice and smoothie shop once I knew the basics. Now I just needed a shopping list, a blender/food processor, and to figure out how I would work it with my schedule.
I decided to start with fruits, yogurt; in short, things that I understood. Nothing wild and bitter like dandelion greens or Arugala. I had worked at a juice and smoothie shop once I knew the basics. Now I just needed a shopping list, a blender/food processor, and to figure out how I would work it with my schedule.
The last few days of February came and I was exhausted. I was
physically at work, but mentally I was dying to go home and crawl in bed.. I
have a hard job in the best of times, but some weeks are harder than others
last week was not one of those weeks. By the end of the week I was done with
feeling like garbage. I made a list of the fruits I enjoyed, spent $60 extra on
that fruit, bought some coconut milk , greek yogurt, a food processor, and Chia
seeds. I came home and read some recipes and decided to wing it. Peanut butter
and banana would be my all time favorite flavor combination, so I went for it.
I wanted to experiment with the chia seeds and found that Holy CRAP they….became
gelatinous. I knew this would happen but
was intrigued with them. I was so freaking full after this smoothie I skipped
dinner and my husband ended up with hot dogs.
It’s now been nearly six days of smoothies and it has been a great six days!
The shifts have and have not been dramatic.
This weeks menu consisted of
Bananas
frozen Strawberries
frozen Peaches
frozen Blackberries
frozen Blueberries
So Delicious Vanilla
Coconut Milk
shredded dehydrated
unsweetened coconut
Chia Seeds
Chobani Yogurt
peanut butter (1x)
Cinnamon
The changes I saw and felt were pretty cool.
1)
When my cycle is upon me I am usually lethargic,
cranky, have a low tolerance for stress, am famished and snacking all day,
craving everything I should not be eating, and am generally a moody pain in the
rear. Not this time,I was cheerful, wide awake, looked at food on different
terms and have been very patient.
2)
It takes all of 5 minutes to put together a
smoothie, 20 if you have chia as they need to soak for 15 minutes to sprout the
gel around them.
3)
I make my smoothies at night, put them in 32oz Mason
jars, and in the fridge so in the morning I can grab and go. This works best
for me as I cannot work even the simplest gadgets at 4am.
4)
My energy level is constant throughout the day.
There is no dip in energy come 2pm! I have energy when I get home at night and
that is saying something! Even when my cycle is not part of the equation I am exhausted
come Wednesday.
5)
I get up when the alarm goes off at 3, rather
than hit snooze for the next 20 minutes.
6)
My concentration and thought processes have
improved. All week I did not battle with the situational ADD/ADHD that my work
environment induces on a moment by moment basis.
7)
I found that my choices about the food I did eat
were different; I have to say I do not want to look at this as a DIET. I hate
that word and am against them, but I was looking at food with more scrutiny.The
biggest shift, thus far, has been is it good for me or is it junk food? And can
my stomach tolerate that? That sounds dreary, but I haven’t had true junk food
in a week and the thought of it kind of turned my stomach.
8)
I cannot eat what I used to. I have no need for
it. I grabbed a granola bar to take into a meeting and was STUFFED after half
of it. Uncomfortably stuffed because I am having a difficult time wrapping my
head around the fact that I don’t need that much food any more. Or solid food
anyway.
9)
I still have to have my oatmeal and flax seed in
the morning.
10)
I need more snacks during the day! When I get
home from work at 4 I am starving and must feed in the very near future.
After thoughts:
I need to take it easy on this and not rush
it. I am excited about it, but for lasting change I need to allow myself to
have a little junk food and to be gentle on myself. I do not want to make this
into a diet, as so many other people I have talked to about it think it is. I also don't look at them as 32oz snacks. The
funniest response so far has been from my boss, she gave my 32oz lunch the look
of complete disdain and started talking about the fried chicken she had for
breakfast. It’s more about eating more
of what is right for your body and less of what’s bad. I have read blogs about
folks who lost weight and that would be a nice bonus but I don’t want to do
this for that.
No comments:
Post a Comment
Comments are always welcome.